He Who Brings The Night

For those of you who prefer the harder, darker, edgy stuff, here’s an exclusive preview of a yet unfinished track from the upcoming album “The Power of Darkness”. Symphonic Horror Metal like you’ve (hopefully) never heard before!

He Who Brings The Night

59 Responses to “He Who Brings The Night”

  1. Jp Perdition Says:

    wow !!!!!! im speechless…….guitar solo,,,,choir…..orchestra…tjb…= epic win !

  2. so great choir and orchestra ..real epic and drama track!

  3. The Violine-Runs are fantastic. ^^
    I like the arrangement. Truly evil. Dimmu Borgir Fans will love this track, too, I guess. πŸ˜‰
    Is there a special guitar-player you chose?

  4. Once again you manage to surprise me what you’re capable of πŸ™‚ You really have great skills!

  5. Makes me think of Nightwish or Rhapsody.

    Nightwish is my favorite band so I like this a lot. This albums leans more towards my genre than Nemesis 2 will I think…

  6. nemesistjb Says:

    Wow, I really didn’t think you guys would like this so I’m glad you do! Power of Darkness will definitely offer more tracks in this style, although there won’t be that much emphasis on guitars and drums (we’ll leave that to the many fantastic bands who do this so well already!). Some tracks from Power of Darkness will end up on the Genesis release.

  7. You Rock, Thomas. Yes, some Gothic style maybe, so very nice.
    Keep Going.

  8. Woooow That sounds freaking awesome!!!

  9. I love the choir, although I have to admit that I’m not a big fan of guitars.

    Anyway, the track is, how could it be different, really good. πŸ™‚

  10. The first track is aweswome… So much talent in TSFH! πŸ˜€

  11. EPIC!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Thanks for this post.

  12. Very nice peace of music TJB as allways:-) First half of this tracks is excelent. The second part is great to, but i think that it can sounds much better without guitar and mayby without drums to. I hope that you will release alternate versions of this track without drums and guitar:)

    • nemesistjb Says:

      This is old school symphonic metal and would be nothing without the guitars and drums, but don’t worry if this isn’t your kind of music, there is plenty of traditional trailer music coming!

  13. I think the first part is awesome, including the guitar and drums. But I must say it is a bit pity that “heavy” rock turned to “happy” rock at the end πŸ™‚

  14. Very good job M. Bergersen !!! I’m a huge fan of Symphonic Metal and one of my favorite band is Nightwish, there is a track named “Whoever Brings The Night” on their last album “Dark Passon Play”. It’s a very beautiful easter egg for you track named “He Who Brings The Night”.

    Thank you for your VERY great music, you rock !

    • nemesistjb Says:

      Good going, Derek! I was wondering how long it would take before someone spotted the Nightwish reference! πŸ˜‰

  15. Great new track, another style that you mastered Thomas!

    “there is plenty of traditional trailer music coming!”

    What does it means exactly ? One more albums comming ? Nemesis I and Legend style ? :p

    • nemesistjb Says:

      Our next album, Power of Darkness will contain more epic drama and action such as the music on Nemesis I and Legend, but it will be (as the title says) even darker! The most publically accessible tracks from Power of Darkness will be featured on Genesis. Thanks for all your comments, guys!

  16. Really nice work!

    i spotted a little Nightwish influence…which is great!:)

  17. I found myself strangely liking the 2nd half of the piece. I’m usually not a big fan of gothic- rock or that type of genre, but the more I listen to the song the better it sounds! Great work, keep on rolling those awesome tracks out

  18. One question: trailer cues are short (usually around 2 minutes). So I’m hoping that you will release a full album with 70 minutes of music instead of the 12 track approach like most artists. Cause on ‘normal’ albums tracks are usually 4 or 5 minutes long.

    12 trailer cues are only like 30 minutes of music (meh trailerhead).

  19. I like how the samples you release to us fans are full songs at a very decent bitrate.

    The first half reminds me of what you would expect to see in a dark Mordor-ish scene of LOTR or a Lich King scene from the latest World of Warcraft expansion.

    The second half is dramatically different; a whole lot more Nightwish with a piece of progressive metal by the guitar. Like a dash of Rhapsody of Fire.

    Personally I find the inclusion of that style of electric guitar to make the track sound less of a trailer music piece but more of a song by a symphonic metal band experimenting with an orchestral component. I can’t really imagine a scene with the second half in a movie trailer as easily as the first would.

  20. Ricardo Botticelli Says:

    Thomas as always bringing to us his absolutely amazing music .
    when you need a guitar player count me in ok my friend ?
    will be a great honor work with you one day.

  21. GREAT!!! FANTABULOUS! words cannot possibly seek to describe the ecstasy in ringing in my ears

  22. I maked a fan artwork for this new track, I hope that you will like it. It’s a very simple artwork but I think very appropriate.

    • Please dont say you created the artwork. You only put the text on the picture. This picture is from Shaiya (MMORPG) fansite kit.

      • Ok then delete my comment please.

      • I really don’t want to harp on it, but I have my doubts that you’ve paid the license fee for using the Trajan-Font.

        As far as I know it can be quite expensive to use fonts without permission, especially when making them available to the public.

        Just a well-intentioned advise. πŸ˜‰

    • Yea, like BoB and TML already said…
      Dont post other people’s properties as your own.

      You could get sued for not licensing stuff and use it without permission

  23. Oh my god… This is so great!!! Finally a mix between Pathogen (which I actually liked a lot, unlike most other trailer music fans) and Legend! I SO want this album!

    BTW, comparing this to Nightwish is an insult! This is what Nightwish COULD HAVE been if it was made by TJB and without the stupid singer. Sorry, but I hate Nightwish, although I love symphonic (black) metal.

    • ^^ Uhum,

      While this is a good effort and the symphonic aspects are executed very well the guitars, bass and drums are not up to the standards of Within Temptation, Nightwish or Rhapsody of fire since these guys are rockers for years.

      I do agree that the new singer of Nightwish is rubbish but saying that Nightwish songs are composed badly is completly stupid. Songs like ‘Ghost Love Score’ are master pieces and no trailer track from every company comes close to 12 minute epics like this. Tracks like GLS combine every good aspect of good music; great vocals (Tarja), great lyrics, superb real orchestra, big choir and great guitar lines with real drums….

  24. MrDream Says:

    Another The Power Of Darkness cover πŸ™‚

  25. dang, so good!

    I think I missed it, but who was the guitar player?

  26. toshiroo Says:

    Excellent

    but for me, it would be perfect without electric guitar
    I like “traditional” epic more
    I know it was on purpose for this album ( dark side)
    I hope it will be version B , like “orchestral version”

    I am curious to know where u get the choir in your compositions
    U hire people to sing ?
    or u have an excellent bank of choir samples

    I don’t think u use wordbuilder lol

  27. Caution: Long review ahead

    Amazing. I was really blown away by this track. The first few seconds of Part 1 were very impressive, though not anything terribly new or different. I was preparing to write it off style-wise as “another trailer music track,” albeit very well composed and orchestrated. I had pretty much changed my mind already as it built and the violin runs came in. (I have no idea how you apparently use all the typical trailer-style chord progressions and instruments and have your tracks come off sounding infinitely better than anyone else who tries the same thing.) Then Part 2. The guitar came in and this track shot into the “best ever” section of my iTunes.
    I don’t like rock or metal, sometimes I can’t stand it some of it, but I DO like it when someone does something fresh with trailer music. As much as I love trailer music, I’ll admit that lots of it, quite frankly, all starts to sound the same. Listening to a whole album of repetitious 100% “traditional epic” music can, ironically enough, actually put you to sleep. (See my parenthesized comment above as to the incredible mystery of why this DOESN’T happen with TSFH music, but I’m getting off my point.) The decision to throw in a guitar isn’t anything close to revolutionary, but the way you executed that decision certainly was.
    Let’s just say this: if all metal sounded like that it would jump from least favorite to most favorite genre for me. That’s a long jump. Never be afraid to put something new in your work.
    I’m not sure if you’re still working on the track and were looking for any constructive criticism, but here’s some for good measure.

    Quibbles below:
    There’s a brief section where the pervading mood of the track is broken unexpectedly (1:32-1:39 and 2:27-2:33) and the cheerful notes seem a bit out of place with the rest of the darker melody. The chord progression would’ve probably be more fitting there had it been more minor. Admittedly, this section is really what brings that Nightwish sound, but it’s a trade off with the consistently dark, edgy mood in the rest of the track.
    Also, holding the final note (3:03) a fraction of a second longer might’ve brought a bit more closure. That last one is the definition of quibble. That’s literally ALL I can think of, and I was really trying. As I said; Amazing.

  28. nemesistjb Says:

    Dear Feliz, thank you for your most kind words!
    Trailer music is an inherently limiting musical style, which is one of the reason why I enjoy it. It’s a big challenge to come up with ideas that are exciting, yet applicable to the intended medium. Like you said the overproduced sound and the chord progression standards sometimes make for slightly fatiguing listens in high doses, which is why I believe commercial trailer music CDs have little appeal outside its core of dedicated fans. When I started Two Steps From Hell with Nick Phoenix our goal was to try and bring something truly unique and new to the table, while staying within the confines of the already well-defined standards of trailer music. 3 years ago I knew very little about trailer music and I admittedly did not fully acknowledge the amount of work that went into something as simple (albeit often _deceptively_ simple as I came to realize as I went along). As our company grew, so did our experience with the style, and perhaps more importantly our respect for the accomplishments of other successful trailer music companies. From a compositional point of view I have learned a tremendous amount. The irony is that while trailer music is expected to sound larger than life, relentlessly epic and uninhibited, the actual reality is that is has to follow a very specific format in order to remain effective for its application. When imposed with such limitations you are forced to develop these musical devices to the fullest of their potential in order to keep raising the bar and keep things interesting.
    I’m a firm believer in simplicity. Finding the notes that matter and getting rid of those that are superfluous. In trailer music having this mindset is even more important because you’re given so little time in which to convey emotion and/or a message. Everything has to be rock solid. There’s no hiding behind flurries of woodwind runs and string ostinatos, melody counterpoints, frequent modulations and what have you. You know, the techniques that tend to give the impression of a more sophisticated and artful composition. As such, the focus of the general theme of a trailer music piece cannot waver for a second without losing its appeal as a complimentary element to a movie trailer. Therein lies the great challenge. The album in production, “Nemesis II”, strays away from the trusted and tried clichΓ©s of trailer music and is a much more personal and artistic endeavor than its predecessor. The sound is unmistakably trailer-esque, but a lot of effort has gone into making it a listenable CD with more dynamic width, longer tracks and more developed themes.
    As for “He Who Brings The Night”, it does lose focus with its baroque B-section of the “chorus”, but the track was never really meant to be anything but a fun mash-up of two different worlds πŸ™‚ Your quibbles are spot on, and the piece will definitely be remixed for the Power of Darkness CD. Thanks for writing.

    Best,
    Thomas

    • Thank you. That was a very interesting and insightful reply. Writing trailer music would certainly be an interesting, tricky and rewarding job. There’s a lot involved that anyone who doesn’t write the music takes for granted, I’m sure. I’m also glad to hear Nemesis II will have some especially long and thematic tracks. I’ve always wanted to hear an album where a composer wrote music solely for the purpose of writing good music. Soundtrack critics can bash a composer for an ugly out-of-film listening experience, when, of course, the composer was writing for an in-film experience. And that composer likely would’ve addressed all of the critic’s issues on his own if he were writing just for album listenability. I’ve always wondered, for instance, what sort of themes Hans Zimmer or James Newton-Howard or John Powell would come up with if they just decided to write 10 or 20 of the most amazing themes they could ever come up absolutely without any constraints. After all that wishing, that’s essentially what you’re doing with this project, it seems, and I’m excited to hear it. πŸ˜‰

  29. So then, will “Power of Darkness” be released to the public like “Nemesis II” and “Genesis”?

    • Oh my God! Are you asking seriously or are you joking? I think you should read through the posts once again if you have not got it. Okay,I will enlighten you:

      There will be 2 public releases:

      1. Nemesis II (Thomas, if I were you, I would choose another,more original title, e.g. Exodus :))
      2. Genesis

      That is all, do not be insatiable.

      • Well, he did mention “Darkness” being on CD, but I wasn’t sure if it was another public release. I had a feeling it wasn’t, but thank you for the confirmation.

      • Exodus. That’s actually a really good idea for the album name as the dictionary definition is “a big fat departure” and Nemesis II is a departure for TSFH, being it’s the first album available for the public, etc. But then I guess Genesis would come AFTER Exodus, which is completely anti-chronological and would confuse everyone for years to come, no matter how many times it was explained.

        And I think not being insatiable is probably easier said than done, in his defense. πŸ˜‰

  30. Help LEGEND and NEMESIS 2. Thomas Do The Amazing Music
    Thanks!

  31. *hope Legend and Nemesis 2,from the LEGENDARY composer.

  32. LEGENDARY indeed Mac…

    Thomas, you and Nick Phoenix are truly 2 of the greatest composers I’ve ever had the privilege of listening to.

    Thank you so much for everything and I hope you will continue to blow us away with new material!

  33. It’s funny, but I stumble on this track while trying to look up the music in the second “2012” trailer which I absolutely loved (the track I mean), perhaps, as I realize now, because it’s along the same edgy, metal-ish style as He who brings the night.

    Like many people mentioned here, when I first heard He who brings the night, it definitely made me think of Dimmu Borgir at the beginning (i.e. Progenies of the Great Apocalypse and the Serpentine Offering) with some Rhapsody/Nightwish-like sound in-between towards the latter half, I was actually quite delightedly surprised to find this style of music in the mainstream movie industry (although I think TSFH are the first one to make original tracks in that style), it’s very refreshing! But now that I think about it, it shouldn’t really be that surprising as trailer music and symphonic metal are both epic in nature and Nightwish’s composer himself said he was a huge movie music fan and was inspired by it, it’s nice to see things coming full circle πŸ™‚

    Anyways, I really look forward to more tracks like the one featured in the “2012” trailer (Master of Shadows?) and this one. I really really hope that they will get included in any future publicly released album.

    • Couldn’t agree more.
      That style is extremly powerfull, it add so many impact on the trailers!
      Master of Shadows on Genesis please! πŸ˜€

  34. I sure hope “Protectors of the Earth” is on either public album.

  35. Great piece. When the guitars kick in, it’s a bit surprising, and feels a bit like you switched songs, but when the strings peak back through it becomes evident that you simply changed gears. πŸ™‚

  36. […] He Who Brings The Night. A sweet song I stumbled upon today, by Thomas J. Bergersen.Β  Give it a listen, and let him, and me, know what you think. ( @ nemesisII ) […]

  37. Hey man very nice track i love the guitar in this i dont know why some people above dislike it yes it does remind me of nightwish lol pss are you guys secretly working with them lol. I cant wait for the public releases i hope that you guys will be releasing in new zealand i hope so as soon as i see that I can pre-order i will other wise i will buy them the day the albums are released oh can i request a song for nemesis 2? I would like you to include the song tristian from the australia trailer i would really like that thanks and best of luck.

  38. I was speechless when hearing this track….. Please tell me this track is being release to the public…. Movie trailer music is not release to the public but if this track happen to hit a actually soundtrack album please let me know……. I would buy the soundtrack just to hear this one song. If it’s also release to itunes, it would be great!!!!!!!!!

  39. Wow…this song kind of makes me want to go take over the world lol.

    Awesome as always! It was so surprising when all those strings kind of exploded onto the scen at :31, but wow! This darker stuff isn’t usually my thing, but this song draws you in…I can totally make an exception lol.

    Thanks for the DL! Counting the days until your album releases.

  40. Can’t wait to hear the rest.

  41. Mr Thomas,
    Two Steps just released a demo of Power of Darkness in their official site. They haven’t stated, however, most of the tracks are unknown. Could you please let us know their names?
    Thank you for your time
    Coner

Leave a Reply

